Thank You!


The Albany Civil Rights Institute gratefully acknowledges the individuals, corporations, churches and other organizations that have provided generous support to ACRI.  Your generous gifts allow us to better fulfill our mission of preserving and celebrating the memory of those courageous individuals who challenged the oppressive Jim Crow regime that prevailed in southwest Georgia.  It’s a story of bravery and principled action that inspires us today as we continue our struggle to eliminate the injustice and inequality that still remain.

The following list of individuals and organizations reflects cash and in-kind gifts made from December 2009 through December 15, 2011.



Zion Level (Gifts of $50,000 and above)

Mt. Zion Baptist Church



Martin Luther King Level (Gifts from $10,000 to $49,999)

Phoebe Putney Memorial Hospital

Jane Willson



Charles & Shirley Sherrod Level (Gifts from $5,000 to $9,999)

Artesian Contracting, Inc.

Lee W. Formwalt

Heritage Bank of the South

MillerCoors Brewing



Millennial Level (Gifts from $1,000 to $4,999)

Albany Electric

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.

William G. Anderson

Mary Barcella

Joan Browning

Rev. Theodus Drake

C.W. Grant

Donald T. Hata

Anna Louise & Bee McCormack

Alma G. Noble

P&G Paper Products Co.

Sam's Club

Jeff Sinyard



Patron Level (Gifts from $500 to $999)

Veronica L. Adams Cooper

Janice Route Blaylock

Zeddie D. Coley

John Culbreath

Eureka Baptist Church

Jean Henry

William Spencer Lee

Pfizer Consumer Healthcare

Edwina Robinson

Second Mt. Zion Baptist Church

Mary Alice Shipp

Union Missionary Baptist Church

Alessandro F. Uzielli



Centennial Level (Gifts from $100 to $499)

Albany Area Arts Council

Artesian Chapter of Ministers' Wives and Widows

Geralyn Blaylock-few

Maxwell Bloomfield

Julian Bond

Elizabeth Borgwardt

Lindsay Boring

John Bracey

Jere Brands

Marvin Broadwater, Sr.

Clifford Browner

Joshua Butler

Lovye Cochran

Geveva B. Collier

Commodore Conyers

Charlie W. Crapps

Mary E.  Crawford-James

John Culbreath

Linda Cummings

Raymond D'Angelo

Donell & Frances Davis

Peter de Lissovoy

Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

Erasmus Dent

Hasia R. Diner

Len Dorminey

Dougherty Co. Retired Educators Association

Claire Formwalt

Greg & Carol Fullerton

Kenneth Goings

Jay Goodgold

Alice Goseer Jenkins

Genevieve  Griffin

William M.  Hammond

Rutha Harris

William Hine

James Hotz

Geraldine W. Hudley

John Carlton Huie

John Inscoe

Harold Isaacs

Adrian Jenkins

Jo Elliot Jones

T. Marshall Jones

Jordan Grove Baptist Church

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity

Paul King

Sally Kraus

Benjamin & Mary Lawson

Danny Lyon

Elizabeth A.  Lyon

James Marquis

Louie A. Moore Marshall

Elaine T. & Lary May

Debbie & Dan McFerran

Timothy Murphy

David Nolan

Allen Olson

Susan Oppenheim

Ollie Ousley

Edgar Parker

Penny  Patch

Herb & Connie Phipps

Nancy  Presley

Janie  Rambeau

Bernice Johnson Reagon

Nancy Monk Rideout

Michael & Lydia Rogers

Ralph Lord Roy

Kathleen Scott

David  Sherman

Suzanne Shider

Albert A. Simmons

Rev. Daniel Simmons

Mattie Smith

St. Teresa's Church

Thelma Newberry Stanley

Darwin & Donna Stapleton

John & Nancy Stephenson

George Stoney

George Thomas

Nyota Tucker

Narvin & Anita Tunstall

John & Christine Van Horne

Charles Vincent

Harry B. Ward

Richard Weichert

Annette Jones White

Gloria Wiggins

Harris & Sandra Williams

Daniel J. Wilson

Jeffrey J. Wilson


William B. Wright

Frank Zaremba



Supporter Level (Gifts up to $99)

Babatunde Abayomi

Pamela Adams

Willie Adams

Patricia Albritten

Ira Berlin

Mary Blackshear

Barbara Broderick

Gerald Brown

Mollie B. Brown

Kathryn & Barry Brown

Jack Chatfield

Esther Chestang

Arthur J. Clement

Fleta Collier

Patti Crawford

Richard Davis

Rosemary Feal

Laura J. Feller

Rachel L. Fisher-Bentley

Michael W. Fitzgerald

Noralee Frankel

Christopher Fullerton

Gloria Gaines

Ruth Gaines

Juanita Gilmore

Gertrude Glover

Liz Gray

Bennie & Clara Hall

Margaret Harris

Martha Haynes

Elizabeth Higginbothan

Dorothy B. Hubbard

Hugh Inman

Prather Jackson

Andrew Jensen

Jordan Johnson

Don Kea

Timothy Knowles

Parris Larrain

Jonathan & Maxine Lurie

Mahasin H.M. Majied

Angela McGhee

Silas McKendrick

Susiette McKenney

Leslie-Burl McLemore

Kerica McNair

Princess A. Milledge

Amaechi Nwakoro

Guillermina Owens

P.E.A.C.E. Civic Club, Inc.

Patricia Chatmon Perryman

James H. Purks, III

Atteen Robinson

Eva Robinson

Donald Rogers

Todd L. Savitt

Arleen Schultz

Brian Sherman

Nellcenia K. Shurney

Aldean Simmons

Benétta M. Standly

Irene Turner

Simeon Udunka

Lawrence H. Valis

Christopher  Waldrep

Jurl P. Watkins

Wayne & Shirley Wiegand

David D. Williams

Olivia Wilson

Cynthia P. Young

Alan Ziobrowski



In Kind Gifts

Peter de Lissovoy

Lee W. Formwalt

Hilton Garden Inn Albany

Terry Kraus

Yvonne Nelson Schell



Patron Membership

The following individuals have renewed their membership at the generous Patron Level ($250):

Mollie B. Brown

John & Barbara Culbreath

Everette Freeman

Greg & Carol Fullerton

Jean Henry

Terry & Sally Kraus

Doug & Joni Patten

Rev. Daniel Simmons

Mattie Hall Smith



Organization Membership

The following companies and organizations are members at the generous Corporate ($625) and Nonprofit ($325) Levels:

Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority

Heritage Bank of the South

Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity

Pfizer Consumer Healthcare

Proctor & Gamble Paper Products Co.



Gifts Made in Honor or in Memory of Individuals

Gifts may be made to ACRI in honor of or in memory of individuals. The following individuals have had gifts made in their honor or memory:


In Honor of:

Sylvia G. Berry

Martha Craft

Dr. Jennifer M. Formwalt

Lee W. Formwalt

Everette Freeman

Charles & Shirley Sherrod


In Memory of:

Phillip Joiner

Judge Asa Kelley

Victims of the 1868 Camilla Massacre








The Albany Civil Rights Institute Board of Directors extends warmest gratitude to all who actively participated in the production of the permanent exhibition in the new ACRI building. Many thanks to those communities, organizations and individuals whose personal photographs, artifacts and stories appear in the exhibition. Your support of this project is greatly appreciated!



Board of Directors, Chair: Kenneth Cutts    
Executive Director: Danielle Blackwell   
Museum Administrator: Irene Turner
Manadnock, Inc.
CommunityWorks, Inc.

Chair/Acting CEO: Dr. C.W. Grant
Former Chair: Emily Jean McAfee
Albany State University
James Pendergrast Memorial Library

Design Architects: SRJ Architects
Exhibit Designers: Lyons/Zaremba
Contractor: Artesian Contracting Co.

City of Albany
Dougherty County Government
Mt. Zion Baptist Church
CMS & Associates, Inc.   
CommunityWorks, Inc.   
HT Consulting Associates, Inc.  
Lord Cultural/ Joyworks, Inc.
Mary Royal Jenkins
Dr. Bernice Johnson Reagon
Annette Jones White

Marketing & Media Partners

AE Jenkins Photography
Albany Herald
Albany Journal
Cumulus Broadcasting

CNHI Newspapers
Mediacom Cable
Plantation Publishing

Furniture, Fixtures & Equipment
Helen Young
Heritage Bank
Master Craft, Inc.
Mt. Zion Baptist Church
SunTrust Bank, South Georgia
The Ritz Cultural Center



Dr. Lee Formwalt
Dr. Brenda Hodges Tiller









fetishtube redrube youporn uporn